Snowman Legs

We’re at LaRosa’s having dinner – I’d planned to make tacos, but the hamburger had been in the fridge a little too long, and I just couldn’t face another night of leftover turkey.  Christmas carols are playing in the background (it is December), and my son’s getting excited because he’s just realized that there’s a Christmas tree in the restaurant. That’s when, out of nowhere, he asks:

“How does Frosty walk?”

Bear in mind that we’ve just finished listening to Away in a Manger. Frosty is nowhere in that song. The best part is, he answers it himself:

“He has invisible legs.”

“How do you know he has invisible legs?” I ask. “You can’t see them.”

“You have to look really close,” is his answer.

This is a question I never thought to ask. I mean, like most of the people my age in the US, I grew up with the Rankin Bass cartoon movie, and that just had legs magically appear when the hat went on his head.   It never occurred to me to ask how he could walk. Even though I’ve never seen a snowman with legs.

The lyrics don’t help. Check them out:

Frosty the Snowman

Frosty the Snowman, was a jolly happy soul,

With a corn cob pipe and a button nose, and two eyes made of coal.

Frosty the Snowman, is a fairytale, they say.
He was made of snow, but the children know he came to life one day.

There must have been some magic in that old silk hat they found,

For when they placed it on his head, he began to dance around!

Oh, Frosty, the Snowman, was alive as he could be;

and the children say he could laugh and play, just the same as you and me.

Thumpety thump, thump, thumpety thump, thump, 

look at Frosty go.

Thumpety thump, thump, thumpety thump, thump,

over the hills of snow.

Frosty the Snowman, knew the sun was hot that day,

so he said, “Let’s run, and we’ll have some fun now, before I melt away.”

Down to the village, with a broomstick in his hand,

Running here and there, all around the square,

sayin’, “Catch me if you can.”

He led them down the streets of town, right to the traffic cop;

and only paused a moment, when he heard him holler, “Stop!”

For Frosty, the Snowman, had to hurry on his way,

But he waved goodbye, sayin’ “Don’t cry, I’ll be back again some day.”

No mention of legs, right?  Running and dancing, but no legs. So, what gives?

It turns out that this may be tha answer (as far as this slightly silly question has an answer): 

 
This is the cover of the original Little Golden Book version of the story, released in 1950 – right after the song was released. Frosty doesn’t have legs precisely. Just red galoshes floating in the air as he hovers a foot or so above the ground. So, clearly, he walks through magic.

Hey, what do you want?  It’s a question about a magic, talking snowman.

